Skip to main content

Showing results for Faculty News

Benaderet named assistant dean for curriculum, Phase 2

Amanda Benaderet, MD, MPH, has been appointed the assistant dean for curriculum, Phase 2. 

IU School of Medicine  |  Feb 21, 2024

Kovacs advocates for cardiac emergency preparedness

Sports cardiologist Richard Kovacs leads cardiac screening for the NFL Scouting Combine and advocates for widespread CPR training.

Laura Gates  |  Feb 16, 2024

What's in a name?

Humor Break: IU School of Medicine's fittingly named faculty include pediatrician Dr. Huggins, anatomy instructor Dr. Organ and bone researcher Dr. Bonewald. Could there be a psychological pull toward a name-matching career in medicine?

Laura Gates  |  Feb 15, 2024

Dawson-Knox named MSMS program director

Tamika Dawson-Knox, MD, assistant professor of clinical family medicine, is the new director of the Master of Science in Medical Science (MSMS) program at IU School of Medicine.

IU School of Medicine  |  Feb 14, 2024

Genetic detectives unlock 16-year mystery

IU’s Undiagnosed Rare Disease Clinic gains national distinction for expertise in diagnosing unknown genetic disorders as part of international investigative network.

Laura Gates  |  Feb 13, 2024

In memoriam: Remembering Dr. Dale Rouch

It is with profound sadness that the Department of Surgery announce the passing of a distinguished colleague and revered member of our medical community, Dr. Dale Rouch. A devoted husband, father, grandfather and surgeon, who peacefully passed away on January 21, 2024. Dale is survived by his beloved wife, Dr. Debra (Conerty) Bergman Rouch, and leaves a legacy through his children: Rachel Bergman (Mel Yanson), Dr. Joshua Rouch (Maeghan), Stephanie Rouch, Andrea Laxton (Ben), and Evan Bergman.

Cassie Needy  |  Feb 05, 2024

Remembering C. Conrad Johnston, Jr., MD

C. Conrad Johnston, Jr., MD, Distinguished Professor Emeritus, passed away on January 22, 2024, at the age of 94.

IU School of Medicine  |  Jan 31, 2024

Weaver carries ER experience into role as Indiana health commissioner

Emergency Medicine faculty Lindsay Weaver, MD, became Indiana state health commissioner in June 2023 and now leads the Health First Indiana initiative. 

Laura Gates  |  Jan 30, 2024

Urologic oncologist turns to IU mentors for his own testicular cancer treatment

Sean Kern, MD, an IU-trained urologic oncologist and founding director of the military’s testicular cancer enterprise, was diagnosed with the very disease he specializes in curing. He joined IU School of Medicine experts at a recent testicular cancer conference as an inspirational speaker, medical expert and survivor.

Laura Gates  |  Dec 20, 2023

Dr. Tasneem Sharma Receives R01 Grant For Glaucoma Research

Dr. Tasneem Sharma Receives Grant for Therapeutic Intervention to Target Human Glaucoma Pathogenesis

IU School of Medicine  |  Dec 18, 2023